Uncategorized

Captain America : Civil War

We missed our 18:30 slot for the Jungle Book on Thursday evening, so we ended up seeing the 19:00 3D screening on Marvel’s Captain America.

It was definitely very exciting however I did find myself  bored to tears at some points early on the film (sorry Marvel fans!). I was amused at  the initial scenes taking place in Nigeria but annoyed with the American pronunciation of Lagos.  However despite all of that I did somehow enjoy the giant Antman stomping all over the place and the intriguing Black Panther and ever so chatty Spider-Man.

I did have many thoughts on American imperialism as I watched the film and all sorts of other ‘conspiracy’ theories. But then I figured that it was just a film and life is too short to bother with all that nonsense.
Instead I thought it better to focus on some words which for me summed up the whole movie. During a speech at the funeral of a character that I am afraid to say I am not familiar with at all (Margaret Carter) the niece talked about how her aunt managed to be both a spy and a diplomat in a time when doing both as a woman was unheard of.

 

Her reply was:

“Compromise where you can. And where you can’t, don’t. Even if everyone is telling you that something wrong is something right, even if the whole world is telling you to move. It is your duty to plant yourself like a tree, look them in the eye and say, no. You move.”

I think I found that inspiring in a way. I think I need to remember that when I meet challenges in life. I can sometimes give up too easily but maybe I should not. I should stand my ground.

A little interest search on Marvel fan sites tells me that this is really an variation of Captain America quote

 

3779149-no-you-move-cap-says

 

 
I was also fascinated by  the make up and aesthetics of Paul Bettany aka Vision.

So I’m not really a Marvel comics fan but I think I did well!

Leave a Reply

