Uncategorized

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone…

Life begins at the end of your comfort zone

I was lazying around on the sofa watching a 2 star Netflix movie (and therefore very much in my comfort zone!) when I heard this sentence. Google tells me that this statement comes from a Neale Donald Walsh. Wikipedia tells me that Neale Donald Walsch – born September 10, 1943 – is an American author of the series ‘Conversations with God’ and he is also an actor, screenwriter, and speaker.

Today I have so far not ventured from my comfort zone because I am enjoying being at home. I am always complaining that I am not home enough so it seems to makes sense that while on annual leave I should have at least one day when I do not leave the house. That is of course pure luxury these days given the amount of things that I need to do but I think that time to recharge and reflect is vital. I have spent the last four weeks tidying my little flat to make it a place that I enjoy coming back to – so I might as well enjoy it for at least one day.

However while rejuvenating myself (aka washing and conditioning my hair and completing a much needed facial) I thought I should better reflect on what the end of my comfort zone might mean me for me.

The default position is the comfort zone – it’s safe predictable and I know the rules. It would seem sensible not to rock the boat – especially when one peers out at the rest of the world. Change represents fear and the unknown. I suppose the point is that the comfort zone does not necessarily help me grow and develop. It is a place to rest, recover and recuperate but there is no expansion or change. I will not necessarily know my full potential in the comfort zone. I will not test my limits or push my boundaries in the comfort zone. I will not experience new things in the comfort zone.

So where is the end of the comfort zone?

These days anything outside my flat…

Seriously?

Well – perhaps that is an exaggeration. My whole way of life is comfort zone. That’s not to say that it is easy – in fact far from it. I struggle to keep my head above the water for the majority of the time. I know that I need to change this way of living because in the end it will not be good for me. However it is predictable in it’s own chaotic way and  I am fearful of the unknown even though it might be better for me in the long run. There is another quote “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” So I am not insane but I need to seriously consider changing my thought patterns and expectations. I need to push my limits but in the right way.

Where do I think I need to direct my focus? Probably work and relationships. I am used to being a certain way with people and I wonder if that means – I do not get to pursue my goals to their fullest extent. I wonder if I need to change my attitude to people. That would definitely be stepping out of my comfort zone but it might make me make progress. I am a people pleaser but it does not help me.

Really – what I am saying that my comfort zone is in my mind and my attitude. I need to be tougher with myself and other people. It will in the long run it might be the kindest thing of all.

One thought on “Life begins at the end of your comfort zone…

  1. Love this. It is so true. I too find that I settle into my comfort zone. There are times when I get excited by the prospect of having to push myself when it comes to finding or creating work, but then after I’ve accomplished something (big or little) I find I have gone right back to my comfort zone. But maybe, as you say, it should be considered as much needed time to recharge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

